Gregory Jefferson  President/CEO

Gregory Jefferson, MA, LICDC-S, OCPC, has more than 20 years’ experience developing, implementing and monitoring state-wide and local programs for youth and adults. He has worked at a variety of levels from corrections officer to director of training for the State of Ohio, Department of Youth Services (juvenile prison system). Some of his past achievements at the Department of Youth Services include being selected Employee of the Year and being inducted into Who’s Who of Professional Managers.

Greg served for three years as associate director of programs at Community for New Direction before being appointed as the CEO in 2007. As the CEO, Greg is primarily responsible for carrying out the strategic plans and policies as established by the board of directors. He is a licensed independent chemical dependency counselor and a certified prevention consultant with a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Fisk University (Nashville, TN) and a master’s degree in clinical mental health counseling from The Ohio State University.

John Dawson  Vice President/COO

John Dawson, BS, LCDCIII, OCPC, is a highly motivated leader with 20 years’ experience working with disadvantaged and behaviorally challenged adults, youth, and families. John is licensed to provide both chemical dependency counseling and prevention services. John is very passionate about helping others and has continually made a difference in the lives of Franklin County adults, youth and families. John is dedicated to researching best practices for the prevention and treatment of adolescents. John has been described by supervisors and colleagues as being professional, an excellent leader, and a role model in the field of prevention and treatment services. John Dawson has previously worked for House of Hope, Inc., and Maryhaven, Inc.


William Gardner III  CFO

William L. Gardner III – William joined Community for New Direction in 2014.  As CFO, he is responsible for planning, implementing, managing and controlling all financial-related activities of the organization. William has more than 30 years’ of combined experience in accounting, tax preparation and financial related activities in both for-profit companies and non-profit organizations, as well as operating his own CPA firm. He is a former adjunct instructor at Columbus State Community College where he provided traditional classroom and web-based course instructions for “Legal & Financial Issues in Non-Profit Management.”

William is a licensed CPA in Ohio and graduate of Franklin University in Columbus where he received a Bachelors of Science in Accounting and Bachelors of Science in Business Management and Public Administration.


Amy Becher-Smith  Director of Outpatient Treatment Services & QA/QI Officer

Amy Becher-Smith, MS, MSW, PMHNP-BC, FNP-BC  joined Community for New Direction in January 2019. Amy is a dually certified Nurse Practitioner in Psychiatry and Family Medicine and has dedicated her career to working with vulnerable and under-served populations, specifically individuals with serious mental illness, substance use disorders, and survivors of trauma.  Amy is currently working on her Doctorate of Nursing Practice at The Ohio State University and is dedicated to the implementation of evidence-based practice into treatment to promote healthy outcomes in clients, families, and our community.



Kari Roll  Director of Development & Community Relations

Kari Roll, MBA, CFRE,  joined Community for New Direction in 2017 as Director of Development and Community Relations.  Kari has more than 10 years’ of professional fundraising experience including annual, planned and major giving.  Kari has a Bachelors of Arts in Communication Studies from Furman University (Greenville, SC) and a Masters of Business Administration from Ohio Dominican University in Columbus.  She serves on the board for the Central Ohio Association of Fundraising Professionals Central Ohio chapter and loves working in this vibrant, philanthropic community.




Susie Shipley Norwood Director of Prevention Services

Martha “Susie” Shipley-Norwood has dedicated most of her life to helping children and their families. Susie has more than 35 years of experience working with youth and families. Former manager of the Multicultural Eastside Center of Columbus Area (MECCA) Program, and current part time Director of the Franklin County Youth Council, Susie currently serves as the Director AOD Prevention Services for CND.  Susie has a Bachelor of Science in special education from Ohio University and a Master’s degree in social work with a specialty in planning and community development from Ohio State University and is a licensed social worker. Susie’s passions include empowerment of women and youth.

Susie is the recipient of the 1995 YWCA Women of Achievement Racial Justice Award, the 1992 Warren H. Jennings Award, and the 1990 Robert O. Washington Award.



Community for New Direction Staff

Diija Alston

Renee Blackford
Prevention Specialist

Kelly Burton
Administrative Assistant

Bryant Curry
House Manager

Andre Davis
APPS Intervention Specialist

Brenda Davis,  Exec. Assist. & Corp. Compliance Officer

Soncerrae Davis
Prevention Specialist

Jelani Dawson
Prevention Specialist

Jessica Dogan
APPS Case Manager

Timia Easley
Prevention Specialist

Alicia Filibeck
SPMI/ACT Program Manager

Sam Finch
Peer Recovery Supporter

Whitney Garrett
Prevention Specialist

Robbin Goods
Prevention Specialist

Donavan Gresham
Manager, Prevention Services

TA Harp-Williams
Manager, Human Resources

Mahogany Harris
SPMI/ACT Case Manager

Shirocco Haynesworth
APPS Intervention Specialist

Tamicia Hilliard
Accounting Clerk

Kaltiemba Howell
SUD Counselor

Anita Kramer
Clinical Social Worker

Nancy Lockwood
Mental Health Clinician

Robert Mitchell
Peer Recovery Supporter

Tiffanie Pinnix
SUD Counselor

Kathleen Reedy
Admissions Coordinator

Aracely Reyna Rubio
Prevention Specialist

Ethel Shelton
Prevention Specialist

Thomas Smith
Peer Recovery Supporter

Eloida Stegall
SUD Case Manager

Emily Stewart
SPMI/ACT Case Manager

Donald Suel
APPS Intervention Specialist

Steve Sweatte
Peer Recovery Supporter

Denise Thorpe
Billing Specialist

Keith Walker

Alison Washington
Administrative Assistant

Keith White II
Prevention Specialist

William Womack AOD Counselor
William Womack
SUD Counselor

Bill Wright
Peer Recovery Supporter